Aarti Shah
Aarti’s Email

Laureus World Sports Awards 2020: Sachin Tendulkar[1] has won the Laureus Sporting Moment Award (2000-2020) on February 18, 2020. The Laureus sports grants occasion was held in Germany’s capital Berlin. Sachin Tendulkar won this honor dependent on the open fan vote.

The jury chose an image of Team India conveying Sachin Tendulkar on shoulders for the best donning minute honor. India won the World Cup by overcoming Sri Lanka by 6 wickets at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai in 2011 under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Aside from that, Argentine star footballer Lionel Messi and Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton together won Sportsman of the Year grant.
The jury of Laureus Sports Awards[2] 2020 selected a moment from the last decade for this award. According to the Laureus, it was the best moment of the decade when players of the Indian Cricket Team carried Tendulkar on their shoulders across the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. The Laureus Sports Awards 2020 titled this picture, ‘Carried on the shoulders of a nation’.

This photo received the highest number of votes. It was Sachin’s sixth world cup. The official website of the Laureus said that Sachin Tendulkar led India to victory on his sixth attempt. It was a historic win for India at the 2011 ICC world cup. It was India’s first World Cup win on home ground and second overall victory.